Louisiana Department of Health & Hospitals | Kathy Kliebert, Secretary

Statewide Initiatives

211 - Get Connected. Get Answers.


The Health Data Panel is a statutorily-created advisory committee that provides recommendations to the Department on the design and implementation of the Louisiana Consumer's Right to Know Act (SB 287/ACT 537).  This legislation requires DHH to provide the Louisiana health care consumers expanded, Web-based access to reliable information on the cost, quality and performance of their health care providers and health plans. The Panel advises the Department on numerous aspects of this project, including but not limited to:

  • the identification and definition of the core health care cost, quality, and performance data elements to be reported to the Department,
  • the development of standards of accuracy, quality, timeliness, economy, and efficiency for the provision of data, 
  • the identification of the most practical methods to collect, transmit, and share required health care data,
  • utilization of existing administrative data bases and modalities of data collection to provide the required data,
  • ensuring confidentiality of personal health information,
  • publication of provider and health plan specific cost, quality, and performance data for consumer use.

Committee Members include:

  • Sabrina Heltz, ASA, MAAA - Appointed as Chair of the Panel - Senior Vice President, Healthcare System Quality, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Louisiana
  • M. Bryan Day - Appointed as Vice Chair of the Panel - Regional Sr. Vice President, Promise Health Care, Inc.
  • Philip Aucoin - Former President, Louisiana Pharmacists Association 
  • Eric T. Baumgartner, M.D., M.P.H. - Director, Policy and Program Planning, Louisiana Public Health Institute
  • Danielle P. Berthelot, RHIA - Leadership and Advocacy Strategy Manager, Louisiana Health Information Management Association; HIM Director and Cancer Registry Privacy Officer, Woman's Hospital
  • Joseph E. Bisordi, M.D., FACP - Chief Medical Officer, Ochsner Health System
  • Walter Brock - Vice President, Administration, Capital Valve and Fitting Co.;
    Board Member, Louisiana Business Group on Health
  • Claudia Campbell, Ph.D. - Professor, MPH Program Director and Co-Director, Center for Health Equality Research, Tulane University, School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine
  • Edie Castello - Vice President/Chief Operating Officer, Louisiana Health Care Review
  • Julie A. Catellier, RN, M.P.A. - Medical Center Director, Southeast Louisiana Veterans Health Care System
  • Diane Davidson - Employee Benefits Manager, Roy O Martin Lumber Company
  • Rudy Gomez - Partner, SSA Consultants
  • Trenton James, II, M.D. - Former Vice President, Louisiana State Medical Society
  • Patricia T. "Tatsy" Jeter, C.P.A., FACHE - Senior Vice President & Chief Financial Officer, Louisiana Hospital Association
  • Randal Johnson - President, Louisiana Independent Pharmacies Association
  • Gwen Laury - Director of Quality Improvement and Assurance, Louisiana Primary Care Association
  • Kristie Marino - Assistant Vice President of Decision Support, Peoples Health
  • Linda Matessino, B.S.N., RN, M.P.H. - Chief Executive Officer, Innis Community Health Center, Inc.
  • Nancy McPherson - Senior State Director, AARP Louisiana
  • Frank Opelka, M.D., FACS - Vice Chancellor of Clinical Affairs, LSU Health Sciences Center
  • Susan T. Pierce, Ed.D., M.S.N., RN, CNE - Associate Professor, College of Nursing at Northwestern State University
  • Shannon Robshaw, M.S.W. - Executive Director, Louisiana Health Care Quality Forum
  • Anne Shirley - Director of Communications, Louisiana Nursing Home Association
  • Ashley Stewart, M.P.H. - Evaluation Officer, The Rapides Foundation
  • Jeff Williams - Chief Financial Officer/Director of Administration, Louisiana State Medical Society
  • Karen Reiners Winfrey - Deputy Commissioner, Office of Health Insurance, Louisiana Department of Insurance