Feedback

Louisiana Department of Health & Hospitals | Kathy Kliebert, Secretary

PrintRSSShareTwitterFacebookWordPressYouTube
Statewide Initiatives



211 - Get Connected. Get Answers.

Home and Community Base Service (HCBS) Provider License Renewal

 

Licensed ADC, Family Support, PCA, Respite Care, SIL service providers transitioned to the new, single HCBS license beginning with those licenses that expired 10/31/2011. Licensed providers will receive a License Application/Renewal Notification Letter approximately 75 days prior to the license expiration date. A document that describes the HCBS license application/renewal procedure in detail will be included with the notification letter.

 

HCBS provider shall submit a completed license renewal application packet to the department at least 30 days prior to the expiration of the current license.

 

The license renewal application packet shall include:

  1.  the days and hours of operation;
  2.  a current State Fire Marshal report, if applicable;
  3. a current Office of Public Health inspection report for the adult day care module and the center-based respite module;
  4.  the non-refundable license renewal fee;
  5.  any other documentation required by the department; and
  6.  proof of financial viability to include verification and maintenance of:
    • a line of credit issued from a federally insured, licensed lending institution in the amount of at least $50,000;
      *For purposes of an HCBS license renewal, personal loans or bank balances of $50,000 or more do not meet this requirement.  No waiver of this requirement nor extension beyond the license expiration date will be granted.
    • general and professional liability insurance of at least $300,000; and
    • worker’s compensation insurance.

Please refer to the HCBS Providers Minimum Licensing Standards published in the Louisiana Register, Vol 38, No 1, January 20, 2012 for licensing requirements, service module definitions, general provisions, operational requirements and branch/satellite requirements. A link to the regulation and HCBS program desk contacts are located on the HCBS home page.